University of Zagreb, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture

Subject type: RES

The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture (FSB/FAMENA) is the oldest and the largest faculty in the field of mechanical engineering in Croatia with almost century-old tradition. It is the successor to the Royal Technical College founded in 1919. FSB has been one of the Croatian leading institutions in education, science and expertise in the fields of mechanical engineering and naval architecture, and for the last two decades in the field of aeronautical engineering too.

In addition to theoretical knowledge, taught by highly qualified teachers from 14 departments and 41 chairs, practical knowledge is an important component of the education at the Faculty and it can be acquired both in 51 laboratories and through intensive collaboration with industry.

The staff, who collaborate with numerous academic institutions in Croatia and abroad and with the industry, have undoubtedly contributed to a high standing the Faculty has in the international academic community and in the industry. With the aim of maintaining this good reputation and of achieving the best possible results in teaching, research and professional activities the Faculty has adopted its Development Strategy 2014-2025. The teaching, research and professional activities include our recent achievements in the:

Engineering design
Naval architecture
Aeronautical engineering
Energy engineering
Thermal and process engineering
IC engines and motor vehicles
Manufacturing technologies
Industrial engineering
Materials engineering

Computer engineering and simulations
Mechatronics and robotics
Medical engineering
Quality assurance and management
Military engineering
This platform and its contents have been produced with the financial assistance of the European Union. The content of the platform is the sole responsibility of ECO-NautiNET Consortium and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union and/or ADRION Programme authorities.
Econautinet 2019